Thanks Donnie!!

Donnie Hockey actually came through!!  Things must be looking up!!

So Don Sweeney pretty much did what the Blowhard wanted him to do at the deadline.  All Sweens did was trade a 6th round pick for a couple of months of Drew Stafford.

Some people may not even like that, since Sweeney traded away yet another pick.  But it’s a 6th rounder.  Sure you can get a Bob Sweeney or Mike Krushelnyski in that round.  And maybe Anton Blidh and/or Zane McIntyre turn into something.  But the list of “ne’er made its” is looooong.  And yes, I totally looked all that up.

Plus, Sweeney has a slew of young talent (we hope) that has already been drafted or acquired and at some point at least some of those guys will have to be implemented into the mix.  So who cares about the 6th round pick?

The most important thing is that he wasn’t blinded by the great record under Bruce Cassidy and pretend that this team was a player or two away from a Stanley Cup Championship run, give up too many young players and/or more picks…and then either not make the playoffs or lose in the first round.  Would have been yet another black mark against him.

I’m sure he listened to both buy and sell situations.  If he didn’t, he’s not doing his job.  But thankfully, he did not pull the trigger on buying.  I actually am ok with him also not completely selling at this point.  As discussed previously, the edge of the roster guys weren’t going to bring you much anyway.  The more talented players on this roster seemed to have been re-energized some with the coaching change.  And it may behoove the team to keep a guy like Zdeno Chara for next year, to be a kind of “coach on the ice”…especially for the significantly reduced cap hit.  Let’s ride this thing out this year as is, have no illusions of where the finish line is, then tinker with things over the summer.

To me, this was the best case scenario.

As for Stafford?  I can’t say I have followed his seemingly less than illustrious 144 game Winnipeg Jet career.  But I do remember when he was a Buffalo Sabre he always seemed to play well against the Bruins.  Although Jimmy Hayes has played better since Cassidy took over, he still is playing only 8-9 minutes a night.  So the coaching staff can’t be trusting him THAT much.  Stafford would probably qualify as an upgrade, no?

Stafford would also seem to qualify a sort of “Peter Cehlarik”-type of insurance.  Don’t get me wrong, in my eyes, Cehlarik has played pretty well with David Krejci and David Pastrnak.  I like what I’ve seen thus far.  But he’s just a kid.  He hasn’t scored in his 8 career NHL games.  And as the playoff race gets tighter, if he isn’t producing offensively on the second line, I can see him back in Providence (instead of buried on the 4th line or a healthy scratch) as Cassidy leans on the veterans more.  Unfair?  Perhaps.  But all bets are off if the team is actually trying to make the playoffs.  Which I presume they are.  And I know, Stafford is technically a right wing and Cehlarik a left wing.  But those types of things always work themselves out.

Seems to me that Stafford is a solid, if unspectacular acquisition.  At a reasonable cost.  No problems there.

So I applaud you Don Sweeney!!  I’m not sure I’ve ever said anything positive about Donnie Hockey since he took over the GM chair.  I suppose there is a first time for everything though, right?

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on March 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

