The NBA season is finally over?!

Congratulations to the Cleveland Cavaliers for winning the 2015-16 NBA Championship.  Really pains me to say it.  But after coming back from a 3-1 game deficit and winning 2 of the last 3 games at Golden State, where the Warriors only lost twice in the regular season, well, I suppose I have to give them their due.

And LeBron?  I’ll give him his due too…but not for Game 7.  James was certainly ballin’ in Games 5 & 6, pouring in 41 each time to get it to a Game 7.  Sure, he had a triple-double in the deciding game, but was he the reason they won?

Nope.

I’ll tell you the reason the Cavs won:  Golden State choked.  No two ways about it.  Certainly in their home games at the end.  Losing the 3-1 lead.  Game 7.  Add anything else to the list if you want.  Gag job.

Not having Draymond Green in Game 5 most assuredly cost them as well.  Having him available at home, up 3-1, may have sealed the deal right there, regardless of how awesome LeBron played.  But hey, Draymond earned that suspension.

But then having all hands on deck for Game 7 at home and losing that one?  Inexplicable.  Inexcusable.  Oh, and don’t give me “well, they didn’t have all hands on deck because Andrew Bogut was out.”  Ok, no one has actually said that, but I’m just making sure.  Although…Festus Ezeli started for Bogut, played 11 minutes, went 0-4, missing a few bunnies and was otherwise generally useless…so perhaps Bogut could have given them…SOMETHING?  Ok, probably not, so let’s move on…

I’ve got a few numbers for you:

5 for 32:  Harrison Barnes’ shooting in the last 3 games.  16%?  Yikes!!  Barnes seems to be a decent enough player and is still only 24.  Many people think he could get a max contract this offseason.  A max contract for the 4th option on ANY team?  Seems like a little much.  Either way, shooting 16% over the most important games of the year doesn’t seem like the way to go about getting that contract.

41 for 83:  The Warriors took 83 shots in Game 7.  Almost half of them were three pointers.  I’m wondering if there could be a stat for “foolish” three pointers.  Cuz a fair amount of those 41 could be classified as that.  In my opinion anyway.  I know, I know…this is their game, that’s how they play…blah, blah, blah.  Maybe they do fire up a lot of threes, sure.  But in the most important game of the season, shouldn’t they be a little smarter about the quality of those shots?  Side note:  Golden State should have won the last 2 championships and are no doubt a great team.  But if the league is completely trending to their style of play…which it very well could be…then this will make me dislike the professional game even more.  If that matters at all…

17, 14, 10:  Golden State turnovers in Games 5-7.  The Game 7 total of 10 is actually much better than their averages of 14.9 per game during the regular season and 14.0 per game overall in the playoffs.  I’m actually quite shocked at all of these totals actually.  Watching the games live it just felt like a ton more.  Especially down the stretch in Game 7.  Maybe it was some of their stupid forced passes that turned into kicked balls by Cleveland that kept the number low.  There were plenty of those.  But I also remember some stupid behind the back passes that sailed out-of-bounds as well.  I actually don’t have much of an argument here based on the numbers.  But they played sloppy down the stretch, no doubt.  There is no disputing that.

Long story short?  Now that LeFraud has “gone home” and won his championship and all, every one of his apologists immediately came out of the woodwork and took aim at the “LeBron bashers.”  He finished up the series well, no question.  He won the MVP and that was likely the right call.  Although…only Kyrie Irving really merited any consideration otherwise.  So it’s not like the choice for that was excruciatingly tough.  He is clearly one of the best players in the game today, if not the best.  And is one of the better players in NBA history.

But in reality, how tough was this playoff “run”?  They advanced to the Finals through an extremely mediocre Eastern Conference, steamrolling through Detroit and Atlanta and while also burying Toronto with minimal effort as well.  Then they played a Golden State team that yes, went 73-9 during the season.  But then went a rather pedestrian (for them) 15-9 in the playoffs.  Quite honestly, they may have been out of gas from chasing the regular season win record (hello, 2007 New England Patriots?).  Steph Curry was hurt and maybe even more than he let on.  The Green suspension opened a door, although again, it was certainly deserved.  Not to make excuses for the Warriors, but let’s be honest:  The playoff Warriors were not the same team as the regular season Warriors.

So let’s give the Cavs and James their due, absolutely.  But let’s not get carried away.  And by “carried away”, think LeBron going down to the floor in Game 7 like he was shot and then hitting a key free throw anyway.  The wrist may have hit the floor, but didn’t seem to warrant the reaction a soccer player would normally cook up.  Wasn’t as bad as him flopping when teammate Tristan Thompson accidentally hit him in the Toronto series.  But ridiculous in its own right regardless.  Though…witnessing Anderson Varajeo continuously diving all series, in limited minutes, no less…and watching Marcus Smart do it all year here locally…I suppose this is also part of the game now…

Congratulations, City of Cleveland.  Congratulations, LeClown James.  Now go away.

Onto the draft…already some activity.  Can’t wait to see how much more goes down.  Feel like it’s going to be a wild night.  Hoping for it actually, certainly in the Boston Celtics’ case…

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on June 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Your Lebron comments are unwarranted in my opinion. The Lefraud, Leclown stuff. Give it a rest. Why? Because he made a mistake with the decision? Come on. Who cares? Get over it. He is without a doubt a fucking monster of a player (which I acknowledge you give him his due), but not enough in my opinion. I think actually he is probably, the best all around player to ever play. He can do anything. That defensive stop he made was indicative of his career, just game changing. He actually changed the entire narrative of this NBA season, where it was all about Steph and the unbeatable warriors, and the new face of the NBA, and stopped it in its tracks. Wow. If you ask me. Just wow. I still think Golden State was a better team, but Lebron put them on his back. Game 5 and 6 and then the triple double in Game 7 was extraordinary. He would have won the MVP even without the win. I have a new starting five for my first all nba team. Magic, Michael, Lebron, Russell and Kareem. He earned it – completely. Now onto the draft where no one will trade with Ainge because he is suck a dick! Ugh.

    • Yeah John, we’ve talked about this before. I don’t like LeBron for many reasons, basically from “The Decision” forward, up to and including his soccer act late in Game 7. Sorry, but these are my feelings. Truth be told, I’m not a huge Curry fan either…or a big fan of NBA players as a whole these days. It’s a different era, different game, more about entertainment and showtime, blah, blah, blah…I get all that. Not to sound like an old-timer, but it’s not what I grew up on and that was the game I grew to love. Rebounding, fundamentals…not guys admiring a 25 foot brick they just put up. Follow your shot, dammit! But I digress…LeBron isn’t the only one I do stuff like that with (A-Fraud will always be my favorite) and for you to disagree…well, that’s ok. I did give LeBron his props and recognize that he is one of the best players in NBA history. That should really offset any disdain for my nicknames for him. Anyway, he was not the reason they won Game 7 either, I’m sorry for that, but that is my opinion. I will not call him the best to ever play, and simply never will. Why? Well he may very well be. But then we start comparing different eras and all that and I don’t think anyone can fairly do that…in any sport. There is a top tier of “greats”: The five you list, Larry, Wilt, The Big O, Kobe, Shaq, Havlicek, Duncan…maybe a next tier right behind of guys like Dirk, the Mailman, Moses, Dr. J, Cooz, West (Jerry, not Delonte!), I don’t know, Hakeem, KG & Reggie, if you will…Durant is working his way up, etc. Some of the above names are clearly lesser than others, but I know you get the point. I can’t definitively pick one over the other when you are talking top 7-10 or so. Congrats to him/them, but I’m leaving it at that…

  2. Oh I mean such* a dick.

    • Yeah, I knew what you meant! I don’t know…I think Danny is waiting for someone to panic for the #3. I’m not sure how much value that pick actually has, but the value may increase the closer he gets to using it tonight. I really don’t know what’s going to unfold, but it sure is exciting! I will keep things in check though…as I expect to be underwhelmed, unfortunately…

  3. Just for argument’s sake. My second team for all NBA ever is Oscar Robertson, Kobe, Bird, Duncan, Wilt. Third team is Isaiah Thomas (not that one!), Havilcek, Elgin Baylor, Barkley, and Hakeem, Honorable Mention is Cousy? (Steph will probably get here or Westbrook), Jerry West, Dr. J, Garnett and Shaq. I think about this too much – I know. I like comparing eras. I know you can’t come to a real conclusion, but it is fun. It is hard to pick Bird as the best SF because he only played like ten great years, but really who would you want taking that last shot besides him? Kobe? Same goes for Garnett for me. Anyway, I say Kris Dunn is the pick, then traded for Noel!

    • Comparing eras can be kind of cool, but you are right, it’s hard to come to a real conclusion. I think the list of people I’d want to take the last shot is short: Bird or Jordan. Period. Although…that’s a list where you may find Reggie Miller in the Top 3.

      More on the draft to come tomorrow, but hugely disappointed right now. I would’ve taken that trade of the pick for Noel. Or a lot of other deals. But Brown, 2 overseas stashes, 3 second rounders and a 2019 first round pick (maybe) does not excite me in the least bit.

  4. That was a f%#%@$ disappointment! Ainge is saying the reported trades were not there, which was #3 for Noel, Covington and two other first rounders. What?! I would have done #3 straight up for Noel or Okafor. If it wasn’t there fine, but that sucked. Really sucked. Jaylen Brown is actually a special kid, and can contribute right away, but that is not what we were promised in this draft. Fuuuuuuuuck!!

Leave a Reply

