We were not all wrong…

…about the Boston Bruins lack of activity at the trade deadline.  Referencing the title of a post here from roughly a month ago of course, where right after the deadline the Bruins had won 2 of 3.  Had some people, including myself, questioning whether we were mistaken in our belief that the team should have made more moves for the future.  Instead of them making a couple of moves for THIS year.

Well, it made me question things for like a millisecond.  I still had believed that the B’s were better off not trying to add to make a run this year, but to keep building up for next year and beyond.  Absolutely trading Loui Eriksson was the no-brainer move.  For me and…most others probably.

Turns out my initial thoughts are probably correct.  Ssssooo…a blind squirrel finds a nut every once in a while, I know what you are thinking.  Regardless, the team is 5-8 since that particular “2 of 3”.  The “2 of 3” ended up being actually a pretty impressive “4 of 5”.  But then that makes the 3-8 record since then even worse.  Nice way to limp into the playoffs.  Oh wait…

Playoffs?  Ummmmmm…we will see about that.  3 games left…Carolina, Detroit & Ottawa…all at home.  Home is good, right?  Yup, normally something to be viewed as a positive.  But the home record stands at 16-17-5.  So maybe it’s not a positive?

Carolina and Ottawa have been eliminated.  Good too, right?  But the Bruins just lost to a team that was eliminated also in New Jersey.  Then they beat a very good St. Louis team on the road, by scoring 6 goals.  St. Louis had given up 1 goal TOTAL in their previous 5 games.  So go figure…no one knows what the hell they are going to get from this team on a nightly basis.

Today against Chicago was positively disgusting.  No other way to describe it.  I’m sure the Bruins apologists will come out and say, “well, they fought back and made it close at 6-4 after they got down 6-0!!  Love the fight in this team!!”

Nonsense.  Garbage.  Ridiculous.  Use any of those terms.  And then some others.

I admit, I had an engagement today which did not permit me to watch the game live.  Even if I had recorded it, I’d have been hard pressed to watch it later in the day after hearing the summary.  That all being said, I have to imagine part of the “fight” back was due to Chicago relaxing…with that 6 goal lead and all.  Especially with the two Bruin goals at the very end of the 2nd period.  Seemed to me the Blackhawks let their guard down a little there.  Who wouldn’t?

Maybe the “fight” was because the team didn’t want to lose 10-0?  Maybe it was legit.  Any way you slice it, do you really have any idea which team is going to show up Tuesday night against Carolina?  I don’t.  The coaches and team probably don’t either.

This then also poses the question on what Bruins team do people expect to show up for the playoffs…if they make it?  Who the F knows?  The real answer is that whatever team does show up, it won’t be a Stanley Cup-winning team.  Not even close.  Based on the uneven performance throughout the year, management/ownership/coaches/everyone should have seen this.

Therefore, the lack of activity at the deadline remains a mistake.  Simple as that.

Playoffs or no playoffs, this will be a big offseason for the Boston Bruins.  I suppose especially so if they miss the playoffs for the 2nd consecutive year.  We;ve been through that all.  Will be through it again some more in the coming weeks.  In summary, Cam Neely has to be on the hot seat.  Claude Julien may be gone either way, barring another lengthy run in the playoffs.  And of course, there needs to be some significant player movement, specifically on the blue line.

General Manager Don Sweeney had his ups and downs in Year One.  He made some decent moves last summer (ie:  getting a decent haul for one year of Milan Lucic).  And some head scratchers (Dougie Hamilton for 3 draft picks).  He overpaid on the deals at this trade deadline.  But then he recently signed a few highly touted college kids.

I suppose the jury is still out on Donnie Hockey.  I thought they should have gone out of the organization for the GM job last summer, instead of just hiring Neely’s buddy already sitting down the hall.  But I’ll give him some more time.  One year is never enough to judge.

However, and this is painful, I will admit that I am hoping the Bruins do not make the playoffs.  I just don’t think this team is lasting more than a round.  I suppose with their “up and down” nature, anything is possible.  But I have to believe a second year in a row without the Jacobs’ getting any playoff gates will spur major changes in the offseason.  Since that is what they need still, I have to kind of root against them.

Again, painful.  And quite possibly blasphemous.  The Stanley Cup playoffs are outstanding overall.  Even better when the home team is in the mix.  Just think it’s better for the organization, specifically in order to bring them back to consistently challenging for the Cup.  Instead of hoping for a deep run with an average roster.  Hoping that a goalie gets hot and they can ride him  Hoping for a miracle.  Etc.

Now watch.  The B’s go 3-0 this week and sneak into the playoffs.  Then go all the way to the Finals.  Then Chris Kelly miraculously comes back and pots the game-winner in Game 7 of the Finals.

Then can I say I fueled the run with negative press?  Yeah, didn’t think so…

 

 

 

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on April 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

