Again with Kevin Love?

Welp, we are up against the NBA trading deadline tomorrow and here we go again with the Kevin Love to the Boston Celtics rumors.  “Danny always eventually gets his guy” rumors.  Whatever.

So maybe Love has never really “fit in” with the Cavaliers.  But they are 38-14.  So he must be doing something right…right?  16 points and 10 boards a game.  Yeah, less than his 18 and 12 that he was doing overall in Minnesota.  But that’s what happens when you are the only guy on one team and on the other you have guys like LeBron, Kyrie Irving and Matthew Dellavedova…ummmm, maybe not the last guy, but you get the point.

So what is the problem then?  Why are there even rumors swirling around this guy?

The talk today is Love would go and Ryan Anderson would be coming to the Cavs.  Ryan Anderson?  I just looked at his numbers and honestly didn’t realize he was any good.  Looks like he is a 16 point, 6 rebound guy, but also doesn’t apparently play any D.  And one snippet said he may be looking for 16-18 million a year after this year.

Ryan Anderson?  At least 16 mil a year?  Just doesn’t seem right.

Anyway, Anderson would seem, on paper, to be a downgrade from Love.  To me anyway.  Maybe the Cavs get other useful bodies, I don’t know.  But it still seems like a red flag to me that the Cavs seem so willing to chat about moving Love.

Regardless, would I take Love on the C’s?  Sure, I love good players.  And it seems that he still is a good player.  Is he a Top Dog?  Not sure.  He was in Minnesota, throwing up years of 26 points and 13 plus rebounds a game.  But where did it get the Timberwolves?  Nowhere.

It appears he has not been a great fit as largely a #3 option in Cleveland.  Can he be a #1A in Boston, along with a #1B and even perhaps a #1C?  Would remain to be seen.  Of course that would depend on who the other two players are.

I’d have trouble giving up the 2016 Brooklyn first rounder for most players at this point.  The players that I would clearly give it up for are also clearly not being moved by their teams.  A good part of me wants to see the Celtics maybe make a few minor moves and then ride this thing out.  They seem to have great chemistry.  The coach has them playing together and unselfishly.  And we’ve always said they have a team full of pretty good players, if not superstars.

Then they would make the pick at the draft, which should be in the top four, maybe higher if the Nets trade their best players and lose at a greater pace over the remainder of the year, as is also rumored.  It also obviously has a chance of being #1, due to the lottery process.  We all know the Celtics lottery success has been nonexistent, but we can dream, no?  This Ben Simmons dude is apparently the next big thing and to have a solid chance at him would seem like something the team could not pass up.

Then ideally the team would make some more moves over the summer and come back a TRUE championship contender perhaps as soon as the 2016-2017 season.  Despite the way I am leaning in regards to what I want the team to do at this trading deadline, I am certainly not delusional as to think they can ride the current team out into a championship THIS year.  Despite winning recently at Cleveland, in no way do I think the C’s would beat them in a 7 game series in the playoffs.  And beating a Western team like the Warriors, Spurs, Thunder, etc…that’s a whole nutha story…

I also do not think adding one body like Love at the trading deadline tomorrow makes them a championship contender this year either.  It’s going to take a few moves.  Seemingly this would all come together over the next offseason.  Just my opinion…

That being said, if a team comes in and makes the Celtics an offer they can’t refuse…they certainly have to look at it.  Here’s a list of players on the current team that I would consider “untouchable”:

 

Yup…there is no one on the list.  Do I like what Isaiah Thomas brings to the table?  Sure do.  He’s a gamer.  Not afraid.  Can drive, shoot, set up, hit free throws and all that.  But expendable in the right deal?  Absolutely.  I’d like to see if Marcus Smart can develop into a “star”.  I’m not that confident about it, but I’d like to see more of him.  Since the C’s got Evan Turner, there has been something I have loved about this guy.  But as an impending free agent, I am not sure I am opening the vault for that kind of dude.  The 4 youngsters?  R.J. Hunter, James Young, Jordan Mickey and Terry Rozier…I’d love to see if they turn out to be something.  But something tells me that if they were on that path, Brad Stevens would’ve found them more minutes this year regardless.  Can’t hold them down if they can play.  Stevens actually force-fed Hunter and Young some minutes earlier this year.  Not very much return on those minutes, to say the least.

Anyway, I think the point has been made:  There is some talent here and some of these guys could blossom down the road.  At this juncture, I’ll take the calls on anyone though.  I’m just not doing anything unless it is really worth my while.  I mean, REALLY worth my while.  I’m definitely not giving up this years’ Brooklyn pick unless something ridiculous falls from the sky.  Of course, I am not affiliated with the Celtics in any way, so it won’t be my decision unfortunately.  So it’s anyone guess what Danny Ainge will do.  I have been in favor with most of what he has done in the rebuild thus far, so I have faith that will continue.  Let’s see what happens between now and Thursday afternoon.

One thing I am looking forward to this summer regardless though?  The 18 second round picks!  Ok, it’s really like 4 or 5.  But how many guys can you stash overseas?  Is Ben Pepper still there?  I know Colton Iverson and (the other) Marcus Thornton are.  Probably more from the past that I have forgotten.  The lesson is this:  2nd round picks…why bother!  It amazes me that the draft used to be like 12 or 15 rounds back in the day.  Nowadays, beyond the top 10 picks or so, half the guys cannot play.  But that is a story for a different day…

 

 

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on February 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Two points on your last point. Draymond Green was a second rounder! As was Jae Crowder. Speaking of Jae Crowder, all of a sudden every Celtic fan thinks he is the next Draymond Green or Lebron for that matter. I would trade him as part of the Kevin Love deal in a heartbeat. I like him. He is cheap and good, but your point is right. This is a fun team, overachieving beyond our imagination, but in no way is even a contending team. They need a star or at least an emerging one if they are going to compete. If they do that by next year I will be ecstatic. It would be nice to speed up the process. I would also take a flyer on Howard if it were cheap. Why not? A defensive Center for the remainder of the season on this team would make them pretty competitive. That said I agree on the Brooklyn 16 pick. No one warrants it, unless Bird wants to give us Paul George. Then, I would unload the truck.

    • Yeah, I know…Isaiah Thomas was a second rounder as well, last guy selected actually. Guys do pan out in the second round for sure. There are probably a few undrafted free agents kicking around the league as well. But we both know it ain’t often any kind of gold is struck there.

      Agreed on Crowder. To me he was ok last year for the Celts after he arrived in the Rondo trade. But I thought his extension was a little questionable…not a ton of dough, but kind of a lot for him. But he has grown on me this year, I admit. Definitely not untouchable however.

      Something about Howard makes teams want to stay away it seems. Is he that bad in the locker room? I don’t know. But although the talent is certainly there, there is something else that scares teams away I guess.

      Funny on your comment on George. I was just saying to someone like a week ago that Danny is going to need another old buddy in the league to hook him up similar to what Kevin McHale did for him with the KG trade. I suggested LB with George as his only option!

Leave a Reply

