Super Bowl? I guess…

…because I’m still irritated about the Patriot’s AFC Championship game loss.  Will I watch the Big Game?  Well, it starts in about 20 minutes, so I better hurry with this post if I want to.

Neither team interests me.  I, of course, don’t have a lot of love for the Denver Broncos.  But I can’t say I really care about the Carolina Panthers either.

I respect the history of the game and can see the significance of Peyton Manning going out on top…should he choose to retire of course.  He SHOULD retire, but you never know if one of these QB-needy teams wants him for next year.  You know, to put fans in the seats, not because he can still play at a high level.  Plus I believe there are a few records for Manning to still break.  In any event, there is probably a job for him in the NFL next year if he wants one.  The same might not be true for Johnny Football.  But that’s a different story…

Manning is one of the all-time greats of course, HGH or no HGH, but let’s not forget he played like 80% of his games indoors in ideal conditions.  Ok, that may have been a cheap shot, but it’s something that is overlooked when he is compared to any other all-time great.  Anyway, if Denver won and he went out a champion, I can see how this would be relevant.

Do I WANT this to happen?  HELL NO!!  My rooting interest would have to lie with the Panthers in this game.  Carolina has rolled through the playoffs thus far and have the capability to do it again tonight.  Will they?

I am not sure about that.  Here are some quick thoughts, in no particular order:

*Carolina is 17-1.  Awesome.  But it’s not like they faced a murderous schedule this year.  Division was terrible.  They played 4 games each against the NFC East and AFC South, the worst two divisions in the league.  Sure they essentially romped in their playoff games.  But they got out to quick leads and cruised from there.  Carson Palmer was playing hurt, which totally torpedoes the Cardinals.  Etc.

*Denver had two weeks to prepare for the Panthers.

*Denver has been here before.  Yes, they got walloped.  But a lot of the dudes are going to remember that.  And probably handled preparation and all very differently this time.

*Is Carolina just happy to be here?  Who knows?  But it could be a factor.

*No weather issues for Peyton Manning.

*The Broncos have a top D.  With the two weeks, they may have found a way to stop Cam Newton.

*The fact that everyone expected Carolina to be here all along and that there were some doubters on Denver’s ability to get here as the regular season progressed.  And then Denver not necessarily playing smooth games against Pittsburgh or New England.  And Denver being a significant underdog in the betting world for the Super Bowl.

*The whole “Manning going out a winner” thing and how it relates to history as described above.

The game is about to start.  All of the above leads me to believe…Denver, 23-17.  I know, disgusting.  But it’s just a feeling.  Hopefully it doesn’t mean jack…

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on February 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

