Massive (brain) dump…probably Part I…

Been a bit since I’ve posted.  So here is some general mishmash, in completely random order:

*Yup…starting with the New England Revolution…whoda thunk it??!  It’s cuz I can.  And it’s somewhat interesting to me.  The team has played 3 games (0-2-1).  They have zero goals.  ZERO!  How is that possible?  Didn’t this team make the MLS Finals last year?  In no way do I claim to remember their exact roster from December, but I just scanned the current one and it appears to have a lot of the same names I heard during the playoffs last year.  Mystifying to me anyway…

Note:  The Revs are waaaaaaaay down on the list of my concerns.  But since they are local…and oh for five in championships…it would be nice if they could win one someday.

*Big week at the owner’s meetings in the NFL.  (Wow…the second point is one that I normally don’t care about either!).  Apparently there were 23 rule changes to be discussed.  Due to complete lack of interest (both by any readers here and myself as well) I’m not going to comment on the majority.  But the Patriots’ three proposals are worth spending a second or two on anyway.

  1. Having the ability to challenge any call…or however it is defined…it would be increasing the amount of replays available regardless. Wouldn’t be excited about this at all…and apparently enough teams weren’t either, in order to change this rule.  Sure, there are probably more plays that should be reviewed.  But where do you draw the line?  EVERY play can be reviewed for some kind of reason.  So do you want 6 hour games?  I love football, but that is a little much.
  2. Having fixed cameras on boundary lines. This is an absolute no brainer and something William Belichick has championed for years.  Why wouldn’t you do this?  It would make so many replays shorter.  They say because owners do not want to foot the cost to set these up?  How ridiculous is that, coming from a bunch of billionaires?  Oh yeah, right.  These are the same dudes that penny-pinched the officials a couple years back and we had to suffer through replacement officials that were clearly in over there head.  Nevermind…
  3. Move the PAT to the 15 yard line. Not sure this will solve much, still a chip shot.  But better than where it is now, I suppose.  It is time for a change, no question in my mind anyway.  What was it, like 99.7% of these are made now?  Seems kind of outrageous that any kind of points are automatic.  I haven’t thought enough about it to have a solution, but something should be done.  Force a 2 point conversion play?  Make the 2 pt. conversion start at the 1 yard line to entice more teams to go for it?  Make the extra point at least 40 yards out?  Smarter minds than me hopefully will work this out in the near future.

*I’ve started to live with the fact that Darrelle Revis will not be here next year…even accepting it to some degree.  I know there are several contracts coming up soon and that they are still close to the cap, blah, blah, blah.  I get it.  But the cornerback depth chart right now?  Yikes!!  One projection had Malcolm Butler #1 and Bradley Fletcher #2 now.  Double Yikes!!  Butler seems to be able to play, but that is quite a big jump to expect him to take.  Maybe Fletcher gets some confidence back and is serviceable next year.  But another big “if” as well.  I won’t go through the rest.  Good thing it’s only March…

*But please, Bobby Kraft.  Don’t insult our intelligence by saying “we really TRIED hard to get Revis back”.  If you really wanted him back, the contract the Jets gave him was not prohibitive enough where you wouldn’t have been able to bring him back.  Sure, a couple of decent bodies would have to have been sacrificed.  And additional maneuvers necessary in future years.  But you really could have figured it out.  So please stop it.

*I’ve made a decision.  As painful as it is for me to say this, I do NOT want the Bruins to make the playoffs.  It’s time for change.  All around.  Major.  And missing the playoffs is the only way change will happen.

Starting with Peter Chiarelli.  He’s had a nice run as GM, no question about it.  But the bad contracts (either too long, too soon, too much money, or in some cases, all three), the bad drafts, being seemingly too satisfied some years (after blowing a 3-0 series lead in the second round against Philadelphia in 2010, he said “well, we are one of only 5 teams to make the second round of the playoffs the last 2 years”), the laissez-faire attitude towards the players some years (after getting bounced from the playoffs in the first round the year after winning the Cup, he said “well, the players came to me and said they felt like it was really just one long season and were tired…”.  I would have lit any player up had they told me that!).  Etc.  It’s time to go.

As much as I’ve changed my opinion on Claude Julien over the years and see him in a much more favorable light, it looks like it is time for a change there as well.  For one, the players seemed to have tuned him out…specifically the “core” guys.  There is a noticeable difference on the ice this year, as far as intensity and pride go it seems.  Talent too, I suppose.  But it’s just not the same.  Not saying it is all Claude’s fault.  But I’ve said it many times before, sometimes you just need a new voice.  He’s been here a long time and it has been a nice run.  But it happened to Doc Rivers.  It happened to Terry Francona.  It hasn’t happened to Belichick, probably because there is a lot more roster turnover year to year in football.  Not to mention the fact that with all the nonguaranteed contracts in the NFL, there is a way to rectify any player situation quickly by jettisoning him.  I just wonder if the three year contract extension given to him before the year will preclude Charlie Jacobs from doing anything here.  Then again, a new GM will want to pick his own coach…

The roster.  Complete overhaul, I say.  I will leave open the possibility that a new GM & coach may light a fire under some of these guys.  But here’s the list of players I WOULDN’T dangle in trades:

Dougie Hamilton, David Pastrnak, Patrice Bergeron.

Yup, that’s it.  I’m not likely to deal David Krejci.  Or even Malcolm Subban.  But I am up for dealing anyone else.  For whatever that’s worth.  The team is full of third/fourth line types.  And third pairing defensemen.  There are not many quality bodies in Providence ready to step in and contribute.  Well, maybe there are.  But youngsters are usually stifled by this regime, so we may never know.  Time to find out, I say.

Enough for now…but still more to catch up on…

 

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on March 24, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I almost passed out when I saw you started off with the Revolution!

    I agree with you on Kraft. You know my feelings towards the Belicheats, but it is even more annoying when Kraft shovels a whole lot of BS and I hear a bunch of Patriot fans eating it up. Sometimes I do wish someone would just come out and say – he was too rich for our blood we let him go, sorry.

    As for the Bruins…ugh. I remain on the fence as to whether or not I want to see them in the playoffs or not. I would hope that even if they got in and gasp, make a run that ownership realizes the problems remain. The main problem is Pete. He did make some shrewd moves with Seids etc. But for the most part he has been a disaster with roster management and drafting. The fact he insisted on giving marginal players contract extensions is ridiculous. The fact he gave Smith an extension is CRIMINAL. It feels like Pete is clinging to players he got back for Seguin that he can’t keep a rational view of his roster. Soupy and Paille??? Really. Locking up your 4th line players? And I cannot wait to see what he does with Looch. If he doesn’t get fired watch for Looch to get some ridiculous long term deal with a no movement. Beyond frustrating. I hate to say it, but I also agree with you about Claude! I think seeing him start the season would make sense, but I think that a new GM will absolutely want his own coach and I also believe the team has tuned him out. Time for new blood. What makes me nervous is that even if Pete gets sacked, he has hamstrung the roster with so many no-movement clauses and bad contracts, the new GM will have a hard time digging out of this mess. Frustrating.

    • I was FEELING the Revs!

      All kind of “ownerspeak” like that bothers me. Like the Red Sox claiming they are a small market team…what?! And the players spouting BS as well…mostly about taking a new contract with a new team that was way higher than their original team had offered…and saying that they liked the city, the challenge, whatever…when you KNOW it was about the money. Just say it!

      I believe there is always a way out of cap jail. You have to have someone shrewd making moves. And you may have to make a sacrifice or two. But there is always a way out. It can be done. But Pete isn’t the guy to do it. Who is? Who knows, but there are enough smart people in the game that can pull it off. Plus, you just need someone else dumber than you to pull it off. And there are enough dumb people around to make that happen too.

      • I agree on both the owners and athlete speak – way too much public relations infusion into the process. They are worse than politicians. I also find it comical when fans and sports pundits say “the (fill in the blank) has made some much money over their career, why are they looking for the extra $X million…” I am thinking about the most recent Revis situation. WHAT??? What drives me crazy is of course when you make $50,000 a year or even $300,000 a year, having a $40 million contract is unimaginably a lot of money. But guess what, when you make that kind of money your cost of living isn’t at the same level as mine! And last I checked a few million is still a few million!

        As for the Bruins, I hope that the next GM can figure out the cap etc. Maybe what we need to do is fire Pete asap, hope he gets rehired somewhere and then trade him all the garbage he stuck us with. Maybe package soupy, paille and kelly for a few draft picks. That way Pete has a ready made 4th line where ever he ends up.

      • Was going to say that about Pete…but knew you would!

  2. The Revs were down two of their best players for the first game against the Sounders. Granted Jones and Nguyen would have helped that game but the Sounders defense that night was just great.
    The game against NYCFC was a bit better and there were some scoring chances. But David Villa scored a great goal. Patrick Mullins who the Revs lost in the expansion draft came back to haunt us with a good goal.
    Last week against Montreal was a bit better. Tierney looked promising on some crosses and set pieces.
    It is early in a long season.
    We have Juan Agudelo back. Out of step a bit but looks promising.
    Got San Jose at home.
    They will be in the playoff mix very soon.

    • I’ll take your word for it! You do know better than me of course. And I do know it’s a long season and it’s early for sure. But zero goals? Tough to do, no?

  3. Well the Revs did not score on first three games last year. Look for a win and a few goals on Saturday!

  4. Go Timbers!

Leave a Reply

