And the winner is?

Who the hell knows…it’s the Super Bowl and anything can happen!

My gut tells me the Patriots should win this thing going away.  What else did you expect from a Patriots/Boston sports homer?  But consider the below:

*Green Bay’s defense is putrid.  And they held Seattle scoreless until late in the 3rd quarter…on fake field goal.  The Seattle offense did not score until late in the 4th quarter.  In their own building.

*Seattle’s wide receivers are average at best.  The Patriots secondary should be able to handle them without issue.  Marshawn Lynch is an entirely different story.  But the Pats should be able to focus on him more without worrying about the receivers beating them.

*The Pats are healthy, the Seahawks are not.  Richard Sherman and Earl Thomas are banged up more than they will acknowledge.  What happens if New England tests them early and they can’t tackle at all?  This is a key point people aren’t paying enough attention to.

*Deflategate pissed off the team.  They will use this to their advantage, no question.  Especially since it all seems to be bogus now anyway.  Not to mention the Seahawks nickel corner, Jeremy Lane, said Rob Gronkowski “isn’t that good”.  OK.  Did I say Lane was a NICKEL corner?  That matchup will be interesting, if it unfolds.  Remember when Steelers safety Anthony Smith said that Patriots receivers like Randy Moss and Wes Welker weren’t as good as the Bengals receivers in 2007?  Among other stupid things.  Also a nickel or dime guy I believe.  And it was fun to watch him get roasted when the game was played.  Similar situation with Lane here.

*Feel like the Pats will be able to run a little on the Seattle D.  Not as roughshod as they did against Indy.  But enough to make a difference.  Then again, they didn’t run at all against Baltimore.  Though of course Seattle is much better than Baltimore, no question about it.

Those are my initial thoughts anyway.  But again, one injury (Gronk is due, after all), one ill-timed turnover (dumb Brady interception within the last 2 minutes of the first half, which he has done plenty this year), one trick play (the aforementioned fake FG that pumped life into the Seahawks) can change the whole tide of course.

Russell Wilson scares the absolute bejeeeeeesus out of me.  Lynch is a beast of course.  But the Patriots have proven in the Belichick era that if they focus on stopping the best player on the opposing team, they usually succeed in doing so.  Maybe the ‘hawks best offensive player is Lynch, maybe it’s Wilson.  You can debate it.  But I think they focus on Lynch in this game.  That leaves Wilson with more ability to make plays.  Add to the fact that the Pats have trouble with mobile QB’s, he presents even more of a threat.

And who thinks Wilson is going to throw 4 INTs again?  Unlikely.  Wilson has a short (no pun intended) history, but it’s a good one.  A couple of well place bombs from him after scrambling out of the pocket, well, we know that can change things immensely.

No one predicted Denver getting waxed last year.  Sure, a lot of people predicted that, as history had dictated, there was a good chance that Peyton Manning would crap his pants in a big spot.  But the whole team was demolished.  No one saw that coming.  However much I did enjoy it personally, I will admit.

I still have visions of Chris Akins and Shawn Mayer finishing out one of the Super Bowls at safety for the Pats because Rodney Harrison and Eugene (when he was good) Wilson got hurt during the game.  Akins and Mayer were excellent special team’s players, but ummmm…not excellent safeties.  Think if Nate Ebner and Tavon Wilson have to finish this game out.  Doug Baldwin will look like Antonio Brown.  Yikes!  The Pats did hang on for dear life in that one, but it was scary.

I also have visions of Brian Tyms catching a long touchdown on the first play of the game in this one too.  Though he is probably not even going to be active, ssssoooo…so much for that.

Throw in one more thing:  Stephen Gostkowski is a hell of a kicker.  Damn good one.  But he hasn’t exactly had to make a great deal of pressure kicks over the years.  Not to my recollection anyway.  This could be a significant factor as well.  We knew Adam Vinatieri had ice in his veins.  Does Gostkowski?  Remains to be seen.

I think the Pats are ready.  As I said, the heart tells me the Pats can roll.  But the head tells me it will be a closer game against a damn good team overall.

Actual prediction?  No thanks.  I’m going to try and enjoy the game myself.  Hell, I may end up crapping my pants like Peyton did during this one.  That may be attributed to the countless number of wings I’m going to fire down, but I digress…

Maybe Sherman’s girlfriend will have the baby and he will decide to skip the game…we can only hope…

 

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on February 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

