Flotsam and Jetsam, Part II

More brain dumping, fresh with a couple of topics I don’t think I have ever addressed in this space:

*Golf:  The more I think about it, the more I loved the way the PGA Championship ended this past weekend.  Speed golf.  Ready golf.  Night time golf.  My initial inclination was they were foolish to rush the round in.  Whatever the forecast or the overall reasoning was.  You figured some of these guys would squawk about it after (Phil!).  Just par for the course.  Haha…get it!  Ok, no more jokes…

I love to play golf.  Sometimes I like to watch golf.  Mostly the last 9 or so holes on a major championship, but that counts.  But I despise some of the rules.  Of course I am not a professional.  But I do like to hit when I am ready instead of waiting a half hour for some clowns my twosome is paired up with to line up their ball and take 27 practice swings.  Or spend 15 minutes in the woods looking for their expensive ball because they don’t want to lose even a one.  And it mystifies me why these guys have to wear long pants in 110 degree weather.  And always have to wear a collared shirt.  How the hell does the type of shirt make me golf better?  I know, tradition they will say.  Look dignified on the golf course they will say.  Love Augusta National’s old tradition of excluding African-Americans and women.  That’s what I want to be a part of…NOT.

Ok, that may be a different story entirely.  And a vastly more important topic than I will usually bring up in this space.  So to get back to “normal” here…I also understand some nuances of the game are unavoidable.  Like reading the greens.  Takes time and skill, I get it.  And the pros are playing for a lot of dough.  One shot can make a difference.  I get that too.  But there is a lot of other unnecessary stuff in the game.  I don’t need that.  I got yelled at once on a golf course because my hat was on backwards.  “We don’t do that here” he said.  I’m sorry…didn’t I just give you like $150 for the tourney I’m in (when I could go play the goat ranch down the street for maybe $40?  I’ve been asked to tuck my shirt in.  And not wear cargo shorts.  Just dumb.  Now I am disgruntled…

*NASCAR:  Ugh…talk about brutal to watch.  Sorry Barry.  At least this week added some intrigue as Tony Stewart seemed to become the new Aaron Hernandez.  Ok, that was a little strong.  And a man did die, my condolences to his family.  Only Stewart knows whether he hit the dude on purpose.  My first inclination was that there was no doubt he hit him on purpose.  But after hearing all sorts of arguments, I don’t know now.  Couldn’t see him, dark, had to rev the engine to change speeds, wing is large, wearing all black, blah, blah, blah.  I do know that Kevin Ward Jr. was an idiot to run out onto the middle of the track regardless of the fact everyone was slowing down.  Just not a smart move.  I feel like Stewart should have seen him, since apparently everyone else did.  If he was trying to buzz Ward and “send a message”, welp, that was obviously stupid too.  I just hope that they are continuing the investigation and get more facts.  Because I heard the other day that there were going to be no charges filed.  I hope that doesn’t mean they closed the investigation.

Oh, and the brain surgeon in Stewart’s camp that said on Sunday that it was “business as usual”?  He should not have a job…that much is for sure.  Even if Stewart really did plan on racing on Sunday and told that guy so.  That quote should never have been uttered.

Accidents happen.  Especially on racetracks.  Dangerous sport.  Let’s hope that’s all it was.

*Robin Williams:  Man, who knew his demons?  Other than the addictions that were pretty public.  But the mental demons?  Who knows anyone’s demons?  Sad loss, an understatement I know.  So was the loss of Kevin Ward Jr.  And many others.  But for someone who seemed to be always “on” publicly.  Just hard to believe.  Talented in many ways.  Another understatement.  Remember folks, even the most normal person you know may have something they are battling.  It could be very serious.  You never know.  So respect everyone.

I suppose this concludes today’s Public Service Announcement.  Back to regularly schedule programming…

About mpdenton

I am a passionate and life long fan of the local teams...and by local I mean New England. I remember the days of Ray Bourque, Larry Bird, Steve Grogan and Wade Boggs...meaning I have lived the highs and lows of the Boston sports scene. With all this pent up Boston sports emotion, I clearly have a lot to say about the local teams and sometimes about sports in general. Maybe even the Revolution... I appreciate you reading my blog and hope you enjoy my rants.

Posted on August 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well said about Robin Williams…we have lost a giant in the industry. But the bigger lesson you mention rings true.

Leave a Reply

